Skip to content
What are you searching for?
Advanced search
  • House share $1,150 monthly
  • East Palo Alto View on map
  • 94303

Description

Room w/balcony views of trail/golf/bridges/hills, gr8 roomies, incl elec+1GB Fiber, $1150

Come live with us in our gorgeous home by the baylands trails in East Palo Alto. Easy biking distance to Google (via off-road trails), Meta, Amazon and Stanford. Just a couple of miles from Palo Alto's downtown with restaurants, cafes and stores on University and California Aves.

We love living with roommates, and set up for low-stress sharing: 3 bathrooms for all (4 total), 2 fridges, 2 dishwashers, indoor bike rack, monthly cleaner. AT&T Fiber Internet (1 Gig/gbps), fast WiFi. Home theater: projector, screen, Roku/Netflix. Washer & dryer. Front door code so you don’t need a key. Yard with BBQ. Solar panels, electricity included.

__Room available__
Balcony room. 11’ 11” by 11’ plus closet (7’ 8” by 2’) and open-to-sky balcony (11’ by 4’) overall 181 sq ft. High vaulted ceiling. Sliding glass door to private outdoor balcony for views across the Bay Trail levees and over Palo Alto Golf Course of the Dumbarton Bridge and East Bay Hills. “Garden” window on the side. Carpet. Upstairs. Note balcony is not for smoking or vaping. $1150/month. Available February 1 2024.

Each roommate shares access to 3 full bathrooms with up to 5 other roommates.

__Who we are__
We’re seeking a roommate with the intention of staying at least six months: everyone here has been here a year or more.

Our roommates typically include working grad students and professionals. We enjoy the social interaction and freedom of having independent, positive, friendly roommates. We like to go for a run, a bike ride, the gym, travel, enjoy the countryside, reading books and taking care of our home. We like to stay reasonably tidy, especially in common areas, but we are not obsessive about it.

Living in the Comfy Creekside Castle are “I”, Moses, Stephen, Emanuel, Maleli, Moses’s two kittens Hazel and Maíz, and owners Mark & Grace. “I” is the Intake/Discharge Coordinator at a non-profit crisis residential facility that provides services to the psychiatrically disabled. Moses is studying learning design tech at Stanford and likes bbq-ing, cooking, and watching movies. Stephen is working on his personal assistant startup and enjoys hiking, reading, learning new things (currently jiu jitsu), and playing with other people's pets. Hazel and Maíz are indoor cats who hang out with us when Moses is home. Mark is an artist who draws, paints and sculpts in his garage studio, and fixes the house. Grace works in operations management, gets involved in musical theatre and is learning cello. Both Mark and Grace are away quite a lot.

We are all cautious about exposing our roommates to COVID and other infections. We make mutual agreements about how to handle risks like casual visits by checking in with everyone and ensuring nobody is surprised or uncomfortable. When we have symptoms, we test and if positive we use N95 masks when briefly outside our rooms. In spite of this and many vaccinations several of us have now had and recovered from COVID.

__Pets__
We like to have cats in the house. Please don't apply if you are deathly allergic or this would make you unhappy. Please be willing to help keep cats indoors by paying attention to open doors and windows. We have two cats now. Note that our rescued cats already have feline leukemia virus so only another indoor cat with that virus (or a very old cat) would be suitable. Our limit is three cats and two cat owners. No dogs in the house. “I” keeps a pet corn snake in her room. Ask us about other creatures and we will think about it.

__Neighborhood; transportation__
This neighborhood is great for access to Google, Facebook, Amazon, Stanford, and Palo Alto/University Avenue/California Avenue/Midtown shops, restaurants and Caltrain. There's Starbucks, Panda Express, IKEA, a Cardenas grocery and a Target this side of 101, and there’s a lovely family-run grocery (“The Market at Edgewood”) with great fresh stuff and amazing patisserie-chef-made cakes at Embarcadero next to 101. The main Palo Alto Post Office is very close. It's not great for walking to shops/cafes - a convenience store a few blocks away is all. Two bike bridges over 101 lead to Palo Alto’s Midtown/Cal/University aves. Super family-run Taqueria La Cazuela is a short drive away. A running/biking trail at the back of the house connects to the Bay Trail. See birds, water and wildlife - loop runs (~4 miles) around Palo Alto airport and Duck Pond and baylands destinations.

We usually fit 7.5 cars on the driveway which is typically all of them. The garage is not available since it’s Mark’s studio. The SamTrans 280 bus is nearby (via trail and sidewalk) and can work for occasional connections to Caltrain e. g. for a daytime journey from SFO - but best not to come here if your plan is to rely on public transport. It’s easy to get Uber and Lyft.

The neighborhood has an active Facebook group (East Palo Alto Neighbors) and a Nextdoor group (Pulgas Gardens) covering festivals, farmers markets, lost and found pets, meetings and development proposals.

__Utilities etc.__
Electricity and internet are included. We share all other utilities and services, divided by the number of people living here so when the house is full each roommate pays 1/8 of the total. No landline phone service or cable. A cleaner comes each month for $300 (split). Owners pay gardening. Security deposit is $500; pay deposit & first & last month's rent on move-in.
A $100 charge per season if you put an A/C unit in your room.
Rent and utilities are paid through an online platform; we require you have renters insurance.

__House rules__
No smoking or vaping anything, and no drugs on the premises (house and land) please - no exceptions. No subletting. No in-room space heaters, no crypto mining.

__Next steps___
Please write and tell us a bit about yourself and let us know when you can come to meet us. We are offering in-person tours or if you are remote, a live video tour of the house and rooms, and we will meet together in person or by video (for remote people) and chat.
Happy room- and roommate-hunting!
  • $1,150 monthly (large)
Availability
Available
Now
Minimum term
6 months
Maximum term
None
Extra cost
Deposit
$500.00
Utilities included?
Some
Fees apply?
No
Amenities
Furnishings
Unfurnished
Parking
Yes
Garage
No
Garden/terrace
Yes
Balcony/patio
Yes
Disabled access
No
Living room
shared
Broadband included
Yes
Current household
# roommates
7
Total # rooms
7
Smoker?
No
Any pets?
Yes
Language
English
Occupation
Other
Gender
2 Females, 5 Males
New roommate preferences
Couples OK?
No
Smoking OK?
No
Pets OK?
Yes
Occupation
Don't mind
References?
No
Min age
18
Gender
No preference

The advertiser is not currently accepting applications

Register for FREE

Register via email